>   About Us  >  History

Before 1945 Division of Arts and Political Science, Taihoku University
1945 College of Liberal Arts Established
-Department of Chinese Literature
-Department of History
-Department of Philosophy
1947 Department of Foreign Languages Established
1949 Department of Archaeology and Anthropology Established
Graduate Institute of Humanities Established
1955 Department of Foreign Languages Renamed into Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
1956 Graduate Institute of Humanities Reorganized into
Graduate Institute of Chinese Literature
Graduate Institute of History
Graduate Institute of Philosophy
Graduate Institute of Archaeology and Anthropology
1961 Department of Library Science Established
1966 Graduated Institute of Foreign Languages and Literatures Established
1967 PhD program in Chinese Literature Started
1970 PhD program in Comparative Literature Started
1976 Language Laboratory Reorganized into Foreign Language and Resource Centre
1980 Graduated Institute of Library Science Established
1981 Language Center Established
1982 Department of Archaeology and Anthropology Renamed into Department of Anthropology
1985 PhD program in Philosophy Started
1989 Graduated Institute of Art History Established
1994 Department of Japanese Language and Literature
Graduate Institute of Linguistics Established
1995 Graduated Institute of Drama and Theatre Studies Established
1996 Graduated Institute of Musicology Established
1997 Department of Library Science Renamed into Department of Library and Information Science
1999 Department of Drama and Theatre Established
PhD program in Anthropology Started
International Chinese Language Program Started
2000 PhD program in Art History Started
2002 PhD program in Linguistics Started
2003 Graduated Institute of Japanese Language and Literature Established
2004 Graduated Institute of Taiwan Literature Established
Present A total of 12 academic departments, centers and graduate institutes


Please use IE8.0 or Firefox3.0 or Chrome 1024x768 resolution browser